Georgia Department of Labor ("DOL") has issued several emergency rules concerning the reporting of partial unemployment claims related to a partial or complete shutdown of a business due to the COVID-19 virus. Clients should take note of these rules because of the financial consequences that may be imposed due to the failure to report a partial claim.
► NOTICE - Additional guidance was issued by the Department of Labor on March 22, 2020. We have updated our guidelines based upon this new information.
► NOTICE - Additional guidance was issued by the Department of Labor effective March 29, 2020. We have updated our guidelines based upon this new information. An employee who makes $665 or less in a week is subject to partial claims reporting.
Employer partial claim reporting applies to any employee, whether they are classified as full-time or part-time; when they (1) worked fewer hours than normal because of a partial or total shutdown due to the COVID-19 virus; and (2) did not earn more than $665 for the most recent weekly payroll period. If your business has not experienced a partial or total shutdown related to the COVID-19 virus no reporting is required.
We have provided a worksheet on our website for clients to use who wish us to file their partial claims for them. We do not have enough information from your regular payroll documents and may receive it after the seven day period for reporting has expired, which makes the worksheet necessary.
It is important to note that the updated guidance requires full-time and part-time employees who have had their hours reduced to be reported.
Partial claim reporting was ordered by the DOL on March 16, 2020 and will last for 120 days unless extended.
Partial claims must be reported within seven days after the end of the weekly payroll period.
Partial claims must be reported online through the DOL website. We have your credentials to your Employer Portal and further registration isn't necessary. If you plan to report any partial claims yourself, please contact our office for your Employer Portal credentials.
If you would like us to file any partial claims for you, complete the worksheet and forward it to our office within four days after the end of a weekly payroll period. The worksheet must be completed weekly even if we prepare your payroll.
Failure to report partial claims will result in you having to reimburse the DOL for any benefits paid to your employees under these rules.
A partial or total shutdown of your business because of the COVID-19 virus could be in the form of the elimination of a shift, reduced work hours, reduced work days, furloughing staff, or the closing of a business. As long as an individual is subject to recall and is still considered an employee they should be included in any partial claim report.
Employees working less hours but receiving sick or vacation pay are generally not subject to partial claim reporting.
We have started an article covering the Coronavirus Aid, Relief, and Economic Security (CARES) Act, including the recovery rebate.
Employers are required to continue to pay employees under certain circumstances related to the COVID-19 virus. Employers will be reimbursed 100% of the payments under this act.
Read More ⇒
Use our web-based NetClient portals or mobile app to send us documents and other files.
Read More ⇒
Georgia is requiring employers to report certain employees who may work fewer hours due to a partial or total shutdown related to the COVID-19 virus.
Read more ⇒
Out of an abundance of caution we are modifying our office hours and procedures due to the effects of COVID-19. Please see our COVID-19 resource page for specifics.
Perform a "Paycheck Checkup!" Recent changes to the federal tax law made changes to your paycheck. Be sure that you have the proper amount of federal tax withheld in order to avoid a tax bill. Click here for details.